2015 National 9-Ball Report

The National men’s 9 ball assembled a very strong field of 43 players .The top seeded 8 players were automatically through to the Sunday double life elimination. Twenty four players came through the qualifying from Saturday .Top of their six sections were Joe Pologa , Chris Bowman, Lincoln Muaulu, Raymond Sayo, K D Singh and Joe Wen.

Sunday saw some early upsets in the first round sending some players to the long road through the loser’s side of the draw .Jamie Walker sent KD Singh over to the losers side 6/4.and Ryon Derriman defeated past champion Glen Coutts 6/3.

The eventual finalist K D Singh showed how tough and long the day can be on the losers side. He defeated Vinnie Adams 6/4,Raymond Sayo 6/5,Kevin Zhang 7/5,Chris Bowman 8/4Brent Wells 8/3 and Marvin Padrigo 8/5 – 8 matches and then onto the final with Matt Edwards.

Matts road to the final was 5 matches with the final being his 6th.Matt defeated Ning Yang 6/2,Deepak Bala7/2,Ryang Wang 8/1, Brent Wells 9/5 and Marvin Padrigo 10/4 before his clash with KD in the final.

K D Singh had been in fine touch holding his form well throughout the day and running frames out strongly .K D took the first frame but Matt levelled and soon got in front. Matt was showing a fine balance of safety, finishing and running out frames and never looked like surrendering the lead. The final score 10/4.K D showed that it may not be long before he takes out a title his overall play throughout the tournament was the most consistent I had seen from him.

Matt had recently returned from the China Open and mixing it with world champions has seen his game develop even stronger. He now holds the 3 National titles of 8,9 and 10 ball.

The National woman’s field was 8 players who all played section play in two groups of four with the top two in each section going through to Sunday double life. Qualifiers were Lorna Frost, Hami Nguyen, Molrudee K and Connie Adams. The final was between Molrudee and Lorna with Molrudee winning 9/2. Molrudee also now holds the 10,8 and 9 ball national titles


National 9 Ball report 2015 (David Breen)

New Zealand Pool Association

P.O Box 47729
Auckland 1144
New Zealand

© Copyright 2017 New Zealand Pool Association Ventrix Web Development